View From Villa Oleander

Villa Oleander - The Reviews

Have you stayed at Villa Oleander – post your review here

Below are reviews from a selection of recent visitors to Villa Oleander.

Stunning!!!!

We have just returned from a fabulous week at this truly beautiful Villa. The location, views and grounds are breathtaking and the photos do not do it justice!. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the terrace each morning and our afternoon swims in the stunning pool. The pool house is super too for a little shade and the fridge is handy for cold refreshments. We didn&t want to leave and can&t wait to return!!

Dawn - Beckenham, Posted on 11th June 2017

Our Home in France!!

Bev and I (“young” widow friends) spent 3 wonderful weeks in Villa Oleander! I had a knee that was misbehaving so we spent more time than we had planned in our home with “the million dollar view”! What a treat that was....dining alfresco on our terrace with candles, flowers and wine!

Our visiting friend from Montreal was enchanted!

The entire house was lovely and our bedrooms, very comfortable.....great pillows!

Our kitchen was a pleasure to work in. We had everything we needed and more. We love cooking and food shopping was NOT disappointing. Visits to the Carrefour for staples and wine...Le Grand Frais for everything else and the upscale shops in Valbonne for everything else and more! They had wonderful prepared meals, pates and cheese. And, of course, always a stop at the Patisserie on Ave. Saint Basile for our daily baguette. I think we became “French foodies”!

Aliza taxi was a godsend! She drove us to the door of La Place de Mougins where we had a delightful dinner. She also took us on a 4 hour tour along the Mediterranean ending up in Eze..... beautiful!

Lunches out were always a treat. L’Amandier de Mougins was very special. We also loved Resto des Arts (moules et frites) and Broche de Fer (Soupe au Poisson). Moulin de Mougins was very disappointing.
Lucy, the delightful English girl who came to clean couldn’t do enough for us.

Claire was superb. She went to great lengths to make our stay perfect. We had a few travel changes due to “the knee” and she was most helpful with those.

We loved our stay in our “home in France” and would love to return!!

Villa Oleander is a special place!

Lorna Beverley - Toronto, Canada, Posted on 2nd December 2014

Serene Sanctuary

Our family has just returned from Easter week at Oleander. The villa was ideal as a base to explore the Cote D&Azur region, and then return to relax in tranquillity. The airport is minutes away, the old village of Mougins lingers in the view of the hills, and Cannes is close enough to see the sea, but far enough to feel worlds away from the bustle of La Croisette.
The property is very well equipped, and understatedly elegant inside and out. Our teenagers were even so well occupied with the amenities - boules, billiards, pool & ping pong - they forgot there was a great WIFI signal and SKY TV. It is evident the property has an abundance of TLC and is a "home", and not a rental villa. We would thoroughly recommend Oleander as a wonderful foundation to build memories of France with family and friends.

Joseph and Trish, Pierre and Emilie Tabet - Dubai / UK, Posted on 26th April 2014

Great place!

Stayed at Villa Oleander with our 3 children late November 2013. House was wonderful-- clean, attractive, and had everything we needed, including a much-appreciated 'welcome basket' to get us started--and the view even better. Truly magnificent. The grounds are lovely and though it was too cold to swim, the kids enjoyed playing ping pong in the garden. Everything about the rental transaction was smooth, and Claire, the property manager, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Very happy with this choice and would definitely recommend.

Jennifer Chester - NY, USA, Posted on 23rd January 2014

Location, location, location

We stayed with family and friends at the fantastic Villa Oleander in July 2013; it was our third stay so I guess that sums up exactly what we feel about the place! Villa Oleander just gets better and better each year, the gardens are beautiful and are lovingly maintained, the Villa itself is constantly being updated and we love all the little extra touches such as dressing gowns, information re the area etc, the owners haven’t just bought a villa in the south of France to rent out to make money, you can see it is a definite passion for them. After holidaying in the South of France for many years now, we can honestly say you will be extremely hard pressed to find a villa with such a fantastic location, it is on the door step to Mougins old village with all its fabulous restaurants and art shops, a short drive into Cannes and Antibes, and also an easy commute of under 30 mins to Nice, St Tropez, Grasse, and the pretty villages of Eze and St Paul de Vence. The actual positioning of the villa cannot be beaten; you are in a private quiet area with amazing views towards Mougins and the bay of Cannes in the distance. We spent many a balmy evening eating alfresco watching the firework displays of both Cannes and Mougins. Local amenities are great, there is a supermarket a short 5 minute drive away, bakers, pharmacy etc just 2 minutes drive or 10 minute walk away and then for a lovely family lunch and mooch about there is the very English village of Valbonne, we loved the little shops and boutiques there. Claire and her team make arrival and anything during your stay extra easy, we had our 5 year old son with us and he was well catered for with regards little people’s needs, I cannot say how fantastic the games room addition is both for parents and children, he spent , many an afternoon playing in there. Villa Oleander is a special place, fantastic location, superb interior including beds, linens, fully equipped kitchen, SKY TV etc and an equally amazing exterior. We love the place so much that we have now booked our fourth stay there next year; I really think that anyone would struggle to find a 5 star villa of equal standard.

Eve Cartwright - England, Posted on 16th October 2013

A marvellous place for our family holiday

It was our son Frederik who wanted to go to cote d'Azur for holiday as he loves France, and this not only because he has a French girlfriend. He got the task to look for a house to rent by internet and he found.....Villa Oleander in Mougins! The presentation of Villa Oleander in the internet was really good but what we saw when we went there for the first time was even much more than we expected. It is a marvellous place and it was perfect for our family holiday. The view over Mougins and the hills as far as to the sea is spectacular and at any time of the day really brilliant. You are nearby to the great places of Cannes, Nice and Monaco and to all the other lovely villages in the region. There is so much you can do in this region: strolling along the market of Valbonne, eating great seafood by Brune in Cannes, relaxing in the sun in one of the beach clubs, and so on and on.....But also just staying at the Villa will guarantee you a perfect day because it offers everything you need: the swimming pool area is great ,the pool-house with refrigerator guaranties cold wine at any time without moving and the sitting area under the big palm is a good place for reading or having a break from the sun. The little terrace in front of the sleeping room upstairs is the best place to start in the day with a cup of coffee and a croissant in the morning. At the terrace in front of the living room we spent lovely evenings having dinner and having interesting discussions by candlelight with our children. Villa Oleander not only offers you everything you need for a perfect holiday in a house. It is furthermore the spirit of the house which makes you feel that everything to the smallest detail is arranged with enthusiasm and love. We all hope to come back to Villa Oleander one time.......

Bettina and Dieter Mulke with Isabell and Frederik - Detmold, Germany, Posted on 13th October 2013

Villa Oleander

Was lucky enough to spend a week at the Villa with my husband and two other couples. It was as beautiful as described. Perfect location. The on site agent Claire was very kind and helpful . Pool was a huge hit after a day of site seeing. Villa Oleander will not disappoint you! We will all be back for sure.

Trish Brock - Vancouver, Canada, Posted on 29th October 2013

Nirvana

It is just over 24hrs since I arrived at Villa.
I am so happy!
The photos do not do justice to what I am experiencing.
It is almost 2:00am in the morning and I am giddy feeling the air and looking out my bedroom window and knowing that I am actually in the beauty which you can provide.
For I poor kid fron Las Vegas...this IS nirvana!
Thank you so much,
Glen

GK - Las Vegas, Posted on 30th June 2012

A Place Where Memories are Made

We stayed at the amazing Villa Oleander in September 2011, there were 6 of us and our three year old son and all I can say is wow, wow, wow!

We have been visiting the south of France for around 12 years now staying in hotels and numerous villas in different areas but have never found such a perfectly located and stylish maintained villa as the Villa Oleander.

We love Mougins and the surrounding village of Valbonne and of course there is Cannes, the Villa&s location makes visiting all our favourite restaurants and towns so easy, we actually drove to the centre of Cannes in 12 mins!!!

The owners obviously love and care for their home, everything is top notch quality and well looked after. There are no garish bathrooms or over done rooms, everything is very &farrow and ball& mixed with the gorgeous french charm. The view over to Mougins is fab, we even enjoyed the Cannes firework show from the terrace.

The welcome at the villa was second to none and we found Claire, their representative at the villa to be very helpful and a delight to deal with.

Unlike other Villas we have stayed in, the supermarket and English newspaper selling shops are just round the corner and the bakery a short distance away is fantastic. More importantly the pool heating actually worked, which is a first out of the villas in the past previously rented!

My son loved the pool, he spent all morning in there followed by all afternoon in the pool house or looking for &Taxy& the little white doggy visitor from next door who is so very friendly and very well behaved.

Thank you to the owners for sharing their wonderful home and maintaining the lovely property so effectively.

We honestly think that we would be hard pressed to find a villa so well located and so beautiful where so many happy family memories were made, hence we have already booked for next year!

The Cartwright Family - Lincolnshire UK, Posted on 21st September 2011

July 2011

We all had a wonderful time in the beautiful villa and hope that at some stage we will be back. We think what has been done with the gardens is fantastic, so much care and attention to detail is very apparent. The villa is lovely and we are very envious of the owners! The stay was a treat to ourselves and our daughters for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it could not have been bettered.

The people who met us at the villa - Claire and the gardener - could not have been nicer either. We were also very tempted to dognap Taxy - a little canine visitor from a neighbours villa.

We had some truly lovely meals but we had 2 evenings at L&amandier in Mougins itself which were amazing and the service
outstanding. They even made our daughter a special Birthday cake which was delicious.

All in all it was a very memorable holiday.

Steve & Vicky Goodwin - Villa Oleander, Posted on 11th July 2011

Our experience

We stayed at Villa Oleander in July 2010 with our one year old son and another three adults. We&d not stayed in the hills before, but we certainly will again. We had a wonderful time and were pleasantly surprised by Mougins (great food and less touristy than we expected), the region and how close we were to Cannes, Nice and other seaside towns or cities. As for the Villa, it really is done beautifully and generally exceeded the expectations of a demanding holiday family. It is presented sympathetically with the local environment and is highly specified (heated pool, poolside bar/fridge, comfortable lounge chairs, lots of sun umbrellas, weber bbq, a/c, renovated throughout, big showers and baths, immaculately presented grounds, sky sports, fast broadband, etc etc). I will have an abiding memory of the smell of fresh cut lavender from the garden while we set on the terrace at sundown overlooking old Mougins Old Village.

Small tip to newcomers to the region - avoid booking a hire car at Nice airport (two hour wait for us and we&d pre-booked!) - perhaps take a cab to Cannes and pickup a hire care there? [Note from Alastair - we have found that using an "Avis Preferred" card, which is free but must be ordered a few weeks& in advance on line, allows you to go to the front of the queue. You tend not to be too popular with the others in the queue, but are with the rest of your party!]
The rotisserie chicken store in the hole-in-the-wall next to Carrefours is the best I&ve had, ever!

Thanks to Alastair and the team for a great family holiday and we hope to see you again.

Peter & Allison - London, Posted on 3rd August 2010

Would love to come back

We stayed at Villa Oleander in Aug 2008 it was fabulous. Our children, who were 12 and 7 at the time, still talk about it and would love to go back especially now the pool is heated!! The villa is in the perfect location, peaceful and relaxing when you need it, but also close enough to Cannes and the wonderful village of Mougins, with its quaint shops and excellent restaurants. Since we came it looks as though a lot of effort, time and money has been spent on making the villa even more desirable, well done to you all.

We WILL be back one day, if we can get booked in that is!!

Jenny, Graham, Gemma and Oliver Lloyd - Danbury, Chelmsford, Posted on 18th July 2010

Summer 2010

If you are looking for a holiday home offering the same luxury as your home, you found the right place at Villa Oleander. Nothing is missing, the decoration matches house and area, the garden and the decks are bliss. Hanging out in the heat on the pool deck, or with a sundowner under the palmtree, watching the squirrel (visiting once a day!) doing summersaults on the electricity cables, or playing boules? Hard choice! Many good restaurants are in walking distance (if you prefer wearing your high heels, take a car), and shops and bakeries around the corner - as are Cannes, Nice and many nice beaches. BBQs on the terasse with a view on Mougins Old Town did often finish beautiful summer days. Thanks to you 4 owners for all the effort and permanent maintenance you are investing in the house - and also for letting us be your guests. We will be back, if possible!

Kirsten Kastalio - Geneva, Switzerland, Posted on 11th July 2010

holiday 2010

We had a lovely holiday in June in Villa Oleander with our daughter and other guests. The villa was very comfortable and tastefully furnished with all facilities including wi-fi and Sky for our news and sports fix. The grounds are beautifully laid out with very comfortable chairs and loungers. A barbecue on the terrace with its spectacular views was a highlight of our stay. While Mougins has some nice restaurants we found Daniel Desavie ten minutes drive away in Valbonne to be well worth a visit.

gina and ronan walsh - dublin, Posted on 2nd July 2010

We will be back

It is not often we get together as a family and this time we were fortunate to have spotted Villa Oleander on the Internet.We all needed to unwind before the younger ones started exploring the nightlife in Cannes. Our needs were catered for! Relaxing round the pool, playing boules, dining out and exploring - our holiday was just perfect with a beautiful setting in such a wonderful part of the world.

Graham, Carole, Alex and Rachel Worsley - Lancashire, Posted on 11th November 2009

Magnificant Mougins

We stayed at Villa Oleander in April 2008, & were blown away by the experience if you are looking for a luxury holiday in the most beautiful setting, then look no further!
The villa is perfectly located overlooking the amazing village of Mougins the pictures on the website just dont do it justice at all absolutely breathtaking.
We found the villa itself to be beautifully appointed, with lovely bedrooms, & fantastic bathrooms, & an amazing view from whichever window you happen to be near.
The kitchen was well kitted out, & there is a HUGE supermarket in between Nice airport (which is only a short drive) & the villa, which was perfect for stocking up for breakfasts & lunches on the way there.
The outside of the villa is fab, perfect swimming pool area, with a great pool bar, which even has a fridge! & the boules court is great fun.
The village of Mougins is within walking distance & is a gastronomic delight so many restaurants, so little time!
In our opinion, the villa is in the perfect location for exploring the whole of the Cote DAzur, & Cannes is only a 15 minute drive away we spent a lot of time exploring there, looking at all the yachts & mooching around the flea market & food market which is a great place for fresh local produce.
All in all, a real home from home, an amazing villa in an amazing location well definitely be back!

Tony & Mandee Lucas - Manchester, Posted on 1st November 2009